Little Known Facts About Movies – And Why They Matter

Do you like movies? Of course, you do! As a matter of fact, I bet that 99.9% of the world loves a good flick, right? Whether it’s an action, comedy or drama, sometimes a fantastic film is spectacular, isn’t it?

Now, I am not a junkie about fine cinema (AKA the “art” crowd,) probably because I don’t like horror movies or sad scenes. However, a splendid motion picture with great actors or actresses, superb screenwriting and wonderful scenes are hard to beat.

At the same time, I ponder at the double entendre, too, between films and speech. Let me explain…

Our Favorite Movie Quotes 

We remember a certain scene or line in our favorite movies, don’t we? For me, (and don’t call me a “groupie,” instead call me a quirky individual,) but I could recognize a quote like it was yesterday. Really. Honestly. Trust me…

Quotes like:

are child’s play.

“How about a hard question,” the audience asks? Sure…

Did you ever see “I, Robot“? Even though the movie, in my opinion, was fair at best, I enjoyed the characters quite a bit. Now, one scene, a detective, played by Will Smith, was talking to a psychologist analyzing the fact that he doesn’t like robots. In this rant, he declares to the psych, and I quote, “You are the ‘dumbest’ smart person, I have ever met in my life!”

For me, priceless. That clicked on all cylinders as far as these words.

Bothersome Predicament

In some senses, I can say the same for me regarding my global aphasia, my language disorder after my stroke. Yes, believe it or not, I, too, can say I am “the ‘dumbest’ smart person, I have ever met in my life!”

Why do I say this? It’s like tossing a coin:

  • On one hand, with fortitude and lots of support, I have done the best I can to retain and consistently go forward with my speech. As a person with a disability, it is been amazing, yet humbling, that I have been working, achieving and producing results for over 23 years.
  • On the other hand, I am not comfortable like I ought to with my communications. I know, even inside myself, that I am a little bit hesitant. Vague. Unclear. In my worst nightmare, I feel sluggish, trying my hardest with questionable results. Even though I do have some deficits because of my stroke, it still irks me like a wound it won’t heal completely.

It is the juxtaposition of a bothersome predicament; both ironic and exciting all at the same time.

The Ultimate Prize

Welcome to my double message; just like a favorite movie, I can see that flick time, time and time again. Same with aphasia. I can be comfortable with my cinema with the ultimate prize of practicing my skills. That’s why am always optimistic and positive on what I am trying to accomplish about my cognitive abilities.

Do you have a favorite movie that has a double meaning? How do you craft your skills?

Now, on with a show! Popcorn, anyone?

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

