How Our Choices Are Like a Cozy Italian Restaurant

Moseying on a spectacular day, my friend and I decided to enjoy the hospitality and ambiance of an Italian dinner close to my neighborhood. As we arrived in the cozy restaurant, the place was hopping and a bopping. All of the participants were dining a home cooked meal, superb conversation and just chilling. With only a few tables left before a waiting list appeared, we snap one of the last tables and sat down.

Milling Around

As we looked seated, I was struck to my right side of not one, not two, but three different high schools milling around in the cafe. Some were drinking (Coke, iced tea and water, not hard liquor,) some were eating and all of them were bantering and screaming very loudly indeed. I concluded that this was their homecoming celebration.

Of course, they were “to die for.” The sophisticated girls dressed up to the nine with short skirts and heels almost perpendicular. The dapper boys slinked into either a tux or a suit with more bowties that I can remember in the past.

Wow!

Water Plus Lemon, Please

As I was settling in my chair and trying to begin looking at the menu, probably three seconds later, a young waitress sprung to my table. She quickly introduced her name and spelled each letter backwards. She indicated in a bubbly and artificial tone what beverage I would like to drink and, wasting no time, suggested an appetizer as well.

Now, unfortunately, as you did or did not know, I suffered a massive stroke over a quarter century ago. For this reason, I cannot indulge any alcoholic beverage because of the medication that I am on. Therefore, I asked a young woman to bring water with lemon and also, think about the appetizer in a couple of minutes, please.

The waitress disappeared with this request. Less than one minute later, though, with water in hand, asked me again if I had made up my mind about what scrumptious selection I had picked.

Once again, I tried to be pleasant. I suggested kindly that if she gives me several minutes to perused the menu, I could make the perfect decision.

Out of Whack

The waitress froze with a blank stare, but understood my request and left without saying a word. The problem was, two minutes later, she appeared once again. She inquired what preference I chose, almost begging me to pick. I was starting to get annoyed the situation enormously. More than that, I thought about what just transpired about the circumstances overall.

Now at the end of the day, I am sure the waitress was

  • a little bit stressed
  • a little bit frenetic and
  • out of whack because of all of the people at the restaurant to, from and side to side.

Huge Hustle

Certainly, some people are always in a huge hustle all the time. Rapidly making preferences without any rhyme or reason, without any contemplation or conviction, these people don’t see the true meaning of their judgment. Maybe it’s convenience, maybe it’s laziness or the status quo, but will it “bite” at the end of the day?

Taking time to make the right course of action sometimes means to slow down your processing and exhale.

In this example, let’s go back to the Italian restaurant. In hindsight, I should have taken my time and examined the cuisine for a couple more minutes. Not because I was an irritant. No, I wanted to engage other delectable creations that may have escaped in the first place.

Mindful Enterprise

My opinion is that if you take your time and study diligently, then, you will act decisively. The end result will be more thoughtful in your actions for such.

A breakneck speed is not equivalent to a mindful enterprise, don’t you agree, mmm?

Bon appétit!

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

