How Communication Can Remodel Your Social Media Brainchild

A slip of the tongue in today’s 21st-century is a perilous slope indeed. Every nuance, every syllable, every salient point that we pontificate in everyday communications is more scrutinized than ever before.

Partially to blame and partially to marvel, the explosion of blogs, social media, video and other visible features are privileged now and examined under a microscope in our manner and criticized more intensely than ever before. The wrong word, the wrong phrase, heck, even the body language or posture may cause of cacophony of either lavish praise or bad intent.

Then, topple that by the 24-hour endless new cycle on television, radio, podcast and other avenues grinding us down to the tiny details of their breakdown and we can see the projection is very tentative.

Concentration

It is a convoluted question, though.

Difficult, isn’t it? I will give you a perfect example:

For me, words don’t come easy, that’s for sure. Suffering a massive stroke at the age of 27, it is affected me physically (my entire right side is paralyzed,) and mentally (my communication, both verbal and written, or completely obliterated, originally.) Over the years of occupational, physical and speech therapy, I recovered remarkably well, but I still have lagging issues.

One, (which drives me insane,) is called aphasia, a language disorder that affects almost 2,000,000 people in the United States. Specifically, aphasia is the processing of the brain for either written or verbal communication, leaving the survivor either silent or very impaired regarding speaking, listening and comprehension.

[bctt tweet=”Words do possess meaning but allow some wiggle room before pouncing like a cat” username=”hwsilverman”]

Short-Circuit

Now considering that I am talking to you, the reader, I am very contented that my cognitive abilities are by no means perfect, but I am functional, for sure. However, because of the damage in my brain, sometimes I short-circuit and will repeat the same words when I am composing a new post over, and over, and over again. I can’t help circumventing my frustrations when I am trying to generate something of high-quality and meaty intent when I say items a thousand times like:

  • basically
  • literally
  • awry
  • aspects
  • important
  • beyond

with no backup on a similar, more dynamic phrase would be.

I can’t control my aphasia but, certainly, I can adapt to the situation and eventually, (as you can see,) the end result, while by no means perfection, is not “garbage.” My meaning of each individual post is meaningful and articulate, even though the words may not come exactly what I was trying to portray in all its true colors.

Wiggle Room

Hence, for all of us, going back to the original position, wouldn’t it be pleasant if instead of arguing, bickering and over each specific pronunciation or grammatical correction, we instead formulate essences of what the individual is interpreting to the reader? Wouldn’t that make more sense in the long run?

Words do possess meaning, there’s no question of that, but, at the same time, allow some wiggle room, from time to time, before pouncing like a cat. In this way, we will possess more respectful and admiration to the other person and the real dialogue of whatever approach will pursue will be fantastic.

Cognition starts with understanding.

I would enjoy your feedback on this article…

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

