Insane (But True) Things About Mistakes

Mistakes

Almost perfection, but…

Top 10 Reasons to Change Your Perspective About… Rejoice (a continuation of my feature, Positively Persistent… What a Concept!)

10. Not a pity party; volunteering, civic organizations, hobbies
9. Technology
8. Be adaptable
7. Be animated
6. Be proud
5. Show your muscles
4. Practice, practice and more practice
3. Lighten up; humor
2. No distractions, no interruptions, no matter what
1. “If you make a mistake, then you make a mistake.”

An our world, we want to be the best cunning, the best clever, the best action-oriented that we could possibly be about our intelligence. However, intermittently, we have gaps and errors that even though we didn’t realize it at the beginning, it is still a decision of blunder that irritates us from time to time.

Don’t despair.

A quick story: in 1991, about 3 to 4 months after my massive stroke, one of the “classes” I took was speech therapy. You see, I acquired global aphasia, a language disorder which. at the beginning, I could not communicate one iota.

So, there I was, just trying to start with simple words and unfussy sentences. But, no matter how much I tried, I was struggling handling, butchering the English language magnificently and with no lifeline coming.

I was frustrated. I was angry. I was isolated. And, most of all, I was thinking about if my “gift of gab” was now going to be destroyed going further and have a rocky road from now on.

While waiting in my shame after “class” was over, at the time, I could not drive, so my youngest brother, David, pick me up. A professional actor and teacher, David knew something was definitely off course regarding my struggles with speech and asked how he can help.

I tried to explain, the best that I can, what had transpired, and finally, David said something that was so earth-shattering and momentous, that it changed my life instantaneously.

Basically, David said, “If you make a mistake, then you make a mistake.”

Oh!

So powerful, yet so benign, I realized what this meaning said. Yes, I am going to make mistakes, I am going to be vague and unclear. But then I also have the light-bulb go on that everyone has the same struggles that I do. It’s just human nature.

Positively persistent means that we don’t need to be godlike or a superhero concerning the art of language. At intervals the words escape us, but if we sustain a strong concept and a true vision, then our true nature will shine very brightly.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. The saying is, ‘Just do it’. The saying is NOT, ‘Just do it, perfectly’. Mistakes are mistakes and we must get through our share of them to succeed! Good post. Thanks!

  2. Number 10 was a good one Herb. Sometimes we all forget that simple fact.

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

