Be a Kid…Practice Makes Perfect

Vince Lombardi Practice

When we were kids, we were assigned activities or projects that we wanted to be the best of the best. And so, we would go head over heels to undertake this momentous challenge by repeating and studying it over, and over, and over, and over, and over until it was just right, just perfect, just awesome.

How did we accomplish this you ask; one word: practice.

Top 10 Reasons to Change Your Perspective About… Rejoice (a continuation of my feature, Positively Persistent… What a Concept!)

10. Not a pity party; volunteering, civic organizations, hobbies
9. Technology
8. Be adaptable
7. Be animated
6. Be proud
5. Show your muscles
4. Practice, practice and more practice
3. Lighten up; humor
2. No distractions, no interruptions, no matter what
1. “If you make a mistake, then you make a mistake.”

Now we are adults and we haven’t forgotten our steps to achieve one of the most basic aspects which is to hone your craft. We take shortcuts, have advantages that may not work out and be uncaring about all of the avenues around us.

But if we just returned to our roots, and practice, practice and more practice, wouldn’t that be more of an advantage?

For example, when I suffered my stroke so long ago, one of my ultimate challenges was to regain the ability to communicate, which was lost because of aphasia. Just imagine that here I was, completely starting over with my speech, only having two words in my arsenal because of my injury. Did I fret? Did I yell? Did I think it was too hard?

No. Because I knew that if I practiced to as many people about my conversations, if I could be a scholar and research my language and to guide my time slowly, but successfully, I will succeed guaranteed.

So, the next time that we get a shortcut that looks good on paper, but maybe not attainable overall, stop and think, in the past, what would your “little kid” say? Positively persistent is like an old motto: Practice makes perfect.

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

