Difference Between a Joker and a Champion

Bridge_Playing_Cards

Nervous and always bold, I went to Kennesaw State University yesterday and had my first encounter with bridge and all of its glory. I know, it’s not an earth-shattering proclamation, but for me, it was almost like going back to college as a freshman: being eager, overconfident and learning to grasp a lot in a short amount of time.

As I thought about this, I realized that there are definitely some connections, whether it’s a business or personal, that are rocksolid and useful. In particular, in colorful terms:

  • Jack of Clubs: be flexible; I don’t have to be 100% right or 100% correct all the time: realize that I have the ability of guile, cleverness and adaptability in my shield to guide me
  • Queen of Hearts: be passionate; absorb my abilities of openness and tenderness in all that I do
  • King of Diamonds: be scholarly; examine all of the nuance of my new vision with determination and purposefulness
  • Ace of Spades: be fun; okay, I could have a more catchy noun, true, but the idea is still indisputable: I have to be gratifying or enjoyable or the game is over before I get started, right?

It is so simple, yet so true in my deck of cards. Being kind and honest is always the way in my book; it’s my highest trump. What about for you?

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hi, Herb, you are totally working this in a “great way”! Aphasia is just a part of it, that is what I read in your writing…there is so much more!

    • Thank you for your kind words.

      In some senses, aphasia is a morpheus being; it molds me, shapes me, corrects me and is always both challenging and forgiving (which I appreciate quite a bit.) But at the end of the day, if I am positive and optimistic about objectives living with aphasia, that in the end of the day, I can achieve almost anything.

      Do you agree?

  2. Herb, it is clear that you live by your convictions. You are truly kind, caring, and compassionate. I was wondering … are your brothers of the same nature, or do you think some of your challenges helped to shape you?

  3. Love this post! Thanks for sharing.

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

