Don't Hold Back Your Points!

Relaxing on a Sunday afternoon, I regaled and laughed out loud of an old comedy movie called “Planes,Trains and Automobiles.” This 1987 film is a hilarious adventure with Steve Martin and the late John Candy. Certainly there’s a lot of shenanigans, but at the same time, as the late Roger Ebert articulated, “is able to reveal so much heart and truth.”

One particular scene was so funny, but so serious, then it struck me to the core. So if you have less than two minutes, let’s go to the movies: http://youtu.be/iU0CuPH7akM. If not, then let’s continue, shall we…

There’s a Concept

“Here’s a good idea – have a POINT. It makes it SO much more interesting for the listener!” Now, there’s a concept, isn’t it? An uproarious scene for sure, but it’s so incredibly true, too.

Why? Because some people have lost the ability to generate conversations that are precise and useful. Especially, I get peeved by some individuals that either don’t care (or don’t want to care) about using thoughts and ideas that are crisp, yet powerful, in every day communications. Instead they will talk about minutia or trivial matters on a daily basis without the ability of crafting words effectively before speaking. It irks me, that’s all.

I guess because a long time ago the discourse of conversation was to be eloquent. Precise. Fruitful. Substantial. Some particulars, not all, today are so wrapped up in their cocoon of immaterial matters that they don’t understand the importance of how the meaning can be so critical, yet beautiful, all at the same time.

Make an Impact

Here is another example: I have had experience in situations of board meetings, or conferences or get togethers and I want to make a point. I portray something that is momentous or exciting or intuitive or funny. I want to make an impact even if just a little bit.

When I conclude my essence both succinctly and directly and are now waiting to respond in kind, the other person looks straight ahead and chimes in, “I don’t know.”

Or, “Could you repeat that again?”

Or (and this I love,) they will go ahead and completely different directions with immaterial drivel. Certainly, this leads me both depressed and sad. It’s like saying, “Yawn! I am sorry, am I boring you?”

Strong Medicine

Hence, I am not on a rant or challenge; people are people through and through. However, I get exasperated sometimes because the significance of language and the majesty of nuances is fading away. To articulate effectively both in business and personal is a strong medicine that should be flourish continuously.

Thus, when watching this flix, when Steve Martin said, “Have a point,” I would totally agree. In some senses, amazing but true, the reason why I write my blog is because it is a powerful potion of creativity, expression, exhilaration and realization that this is my discourses and concepts. That’s the best way, isn’t it?

What do you think about the state of your “points”; I am eager to learn your opinion.

Well, I am spent; I surmise I will watch another movie; where is “Roxanne” anyway?

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Reblogged this on rollingblogger and commented:
    Well written advice on communication and ties in a couple of my favorite 80’s movies!!!

  2. Excellent and eloquently written!!! I am reblogging this wonderful piece!!

  3. There is a dichotomy in what I am thinking at this moment, after reading your comments.

    One is: there are so many people in meetings, greetings and otherwise- who never do come to a ‘point’. Especially in business meetings, I often wonder what they are trying to say that is appropos to the meeting. Then my mind wanders, which is not the point of the meeting.

    Two is: Twitter! I do not ‘tweet’ as yet, but am intrigued by people who can actually make a point within the brevity required by Twitter. However, there are also many twits who tweet, and accomplish little except filling the air with chatter.

    Thank you for making me think once again about how we use our communication abilities. And how we misuse them.

    Regards,
    Shelia

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

