Why the World Would End Without Choices

Two Paths

A parable unfolds concerning an unique approach: is “normal” a good quality, a bad quality or nothing at all?

Let me explain a lesson about a terrible, yet uplifting circumstance with respect to my outlook…

The Bad – The Honest Truth
Looking at an objective aspect of being “normal”, I am a mess of time to time. As a person with a disability for years, besides suffering my massive stroke, which led to my right side being paralyzed, walking with a cane and struggling with global aphasia, my language deficit, I sometimes sense I am not on all cylinders. Because of the severity of my injury, I had to start from scratch, literally. For years, I received (and overcame, off and on) my physical, occupational and speech therapy the best I can.

Moreover, I feel embarrassed and, to be honest, obtuse and stubborn periodically. Because I am always quite critical, and don’t want to tip the boat, I feel indecisive some of the time.

Even so, even today, occasionally I feel like the world passed me by, forgotten and forlorn. Thus, being “normal” could be a very awful place, couldn’t it? (Of course, as you will see in a couple of seconds, that is a fleeting moment, but it does happen from time to time.)

The Good – Ring the Bell
However, on the positive side of being “normal”, I cannot imagine all the blessings and enrichment before and after my accident. It’s like ringing a bell because:

  • First, I am alive (I know, it’s obvious choice, but in this case, it does have some meaning, trust me on this)
  • I hold dear my wonderful family and friends that care and are crazy about me
  • I respect and admire of my colleagues and comrades ongoing
  • I achieve so much both professionally and personally, it is very gratifying

And it goes on, and on, and on.

Hence, looking at the bright side of being “normal”, things look very rosy, I must admit. I am positive, optimistic and like Pat Riley, Miami Heat President, said, “If you have a positive attitude and constantly strive to give your best effort, eventually you will overcome your immediate problems and find you are ready for greater challenges.”

So, What is “Normal”?
So, in some senses, I am almost back to square one as far as finding out what is “normal”? I guess, “normal” for yours truly is to make my own choice about, well, being “normal”. The strengths and weaknesses. The yins and yangs. The ups and downs. You get the idea; for me, being “normal” to make a choice is not formulations or equations, but instead my trials and tribulations to do the best I can do with gusto.

What do you think “normal” is in your aspect? Let’s discuss, shall we?

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Tomahawk Wis Landscape Sept 2014! Fire stone at Lake Nokimos Wi! 🙂

  2. Maxine Kleinman Schlyen September 25, 2014 — 8:00 am

    Expressed beautifully, Herb.

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

