Straight Scoop on Contentment and Responsibility

Penny

Usually wound up like a top, for years, I stressed to the max. As I told you before in my blog, I am a perfectionist. I always try to achieve as much as I can. Sometimes, I am worried because I think I should have attempted whatever the exercise was even more. I obsess each little strand, I dissect each detail until I am raw. It’s like my DNA, but that’s the nature of the beast, isn’t it?

I am over exaggerating a little bit, but sometimes the pressure in my life is almost boiling over: my health, my family, my budget, my retirement, oy; it goes on and on, doesn’t it? I feel sometimes like a hamster just circling with no apparent end.

Happiness and Urgency
However, let’s change the parameters for a second or two… I guess with all of the tension I put myself in, I also have so many joyous occasions to my life so far. You know, the little things that are so precious. The wonderful trips I have been with my family. Terrific friends that I have known forever and a day. I have seen the beauty of the Grand Canyon, the excitement of the Olympic Games in Atlanta, the joy and laughter of my niece and nephews every single day; so much gems and more on the way.

But turn the wheel one more time in my brain; I sometimes feel like, no matter the situation, I discover that the gut feeling is a NEED, not a pleasure, mmm? In other words, at the same time, I care deeply about my passion that is also a requirement; a mission that will change my perspective. In some senses, I merged the two emotions of happiness and urgency.

Unusual, absolutely. Common, probably so.

Contentment and Responsibility
As an illustration, when I suffered my stroke I lost the ability to communicate both verbal and written. (If you would like to know more about what global aphasia is, click here.) Thus, I had to be very discipline to accomplish my goal, which, of course, was to speak not only accurately, but also with meaning.

Fortunately, my conversations over time were definitely improved. Therefore, in some senses, I was very pleased that my ability was on the mend. Another words, I was both very jubilant with a purpose, a perfect junction of contentment and responsibility.

How about that…

So I ask you, do you have a feeling that’s both elation and accountable all rolled into one?

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. davidjrogersftw August 8, 2014 — 5:23 pm

    Herb, Thanks for following my blog. I’ll be following yours. I read your current post and find your question very stimulating. When I was in the third grade, I decided that I would be a writer, and I’ve been writing ever since. I feel that if one has an ability like that–one that brings contentment–the person also has a responsibility to develop that ability as much as he or she can. That is my mission. I love to work; I’m obsessed with work, and it gives me tremendous pleasure, but at the same time, I need to remind myself, like you, that there is so much more to life than a life that’s filled only with work. Great to be in touch with you. Let’s stay in contact.

    • David: Being a writer, and probably a great writer indeed, takes not only lots of determination, but also the ability to create, rework and create again anything you can imagine. This, in my post, was exactly my point: does it takes responsibility to act, but the same time, contemplation to enjoy what you have done and beyond. Good luck in your endeavors.

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

