Build The Excitement Anyone Would Be Proud Of

Fork

I had a horrific storm several weeks ago and, unfortunately, one of my small trees tumbled to the ground. As I was trying to figure out what I needed to do to remove all of the branches, my stance wandered about other people’s reactions in different circumstances and attitudes. On the “front line”, individuals or corporations have their own blend of unusual and passionate ways of dealing with stressful situations.

Encouraged and Worried
Case in point several years ago; I was living in Savannah, Georgia near the river. A beautiful town it was, but quite dangerous. On the rare occasion that a catastrophe hit, especially during hurricane season, it was like nothing you’ve ever seen before.

And, that’s exactly what happened when Katrina smack the Gulf Coast.

At the time, I was a recruiter for the blood bank division of the American Red Cross. When the storm was raging and, eventually, the aftermath of the debris, it was chaos. Even in “The Hostess City of the South”, I remember hundreds of people would stay for hours and hours and hours to give their time and effort to donate blood. It warmed my heart to see so many people dole out their time, energy and thoughtfulness for the single-purpose of saving people’s lives even though the hurricane was miles away.

“It is awesome!” I thought to myself. “Look at  all the people that want to help out for our cause. That’s the spirit.”

However, at the same time, I felt very strange because I knew, in my heart, this was a fleeting moment as far as our donors. I knew that the malaise will kick in at any time. All of the people that were champions will be faded away to dust, so to speak, once again. Another words, I felt encouraged and worried at the same time.

Build the Excitement
To illustrate, tick tock…

  • On one hand, I realized that people were working together, especially, in a crisis. The donors were making a difference as the refugees trickle to Savannah after Katrina with heroic efforts.
  • On the other hand, I knew that in a week (or even earlier,) it will be old news. The newspaper, radio and television will forget soon. Like always, the general population will let slip from their memory about this and go on.

I was trying to understand how I can built the excitement that anyone will be proud of. And, more than just a few seconds, too. I was racing to find out  the important keys to bring energy back, time and time again.

Call Me an Idealist
My point is, I guess, it’s human nature, right?

But, at the same time, call me an idealist. I thought, maybe, I bring action and goodness to my heart no matter what the cause. Maybe, I consider my “shining moment” from the chips are down. Maybe, optimism reigns supreme. Maybe, even a little ray of consciousness will prevail. Maybe.

So, for you, what is your “shining moment”, your excitement? I look forward to your views…

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

